Existing user? Sign In

Sign In

How do I get people to commission me for stuff? Please, please read.

I'm reaching the end of my rope here, you guys. I don't have a steady income. I'm a freelancer, which means I rely entirely on other people buying things from me to keep from being homeless. My parents won't take me back if I can't pay rent and they won't help me financially either. But nothing I do or say works.

I know people can make a living freelancing. I know it's possible to earn $1k/month or even more solely on Patreon. So what do I have to do to get people to bite? I know I'm a talented writer, but people on here don't seem willing to pay for writing and certainly not mine, which is fine. I know I'm not a great artist, but I can make it clear that I'm drawing a chick pissing herself, which I feel like that's the whole point of this site, no? Pee, and girls? I'm not the worst artist I've seen on here, either, but I've made post after post and I offer what I think are really reasonable prices and no one wants anything from me, so just tell me what the hell would make you commission something, anything, from me. I'm terrified, I don't want to lose my apartment. I don't want to be homeless and starving. 

I know I can deliver things that I get paid for. I get commissioned regularly from two people on here for writing, but it's not enough, and with prices going up on everything it's not even enough just to cover my monthly grocery bill anymore. I don't know how else to reach you guys. I can't seem to get taken seriously no matter what I say or do and I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong. Please, just, give me something. Advice. References. Preferably I'd love for people to see this and start DM'ing me for actual commissions, but in lieu of that just help me. And please, please, don't downvote this post or give it a laugh reaction, because that's happened several times now and it's so rude and pointless. Everyone needs money; don't act like you don't get it.