Sign in to follow this  

I'm scared of moving away.

Question

Hi. So, I'm a university student, and this upcoming academic year is the first time I'll be living on campus. The idea is really, really scary. It's only an hour drive but the idea of being completely on my own is really depressing. No one I know is attending the school, and I've never even met my roommate. I've never lived anywhere but my parents house before. So of course I'm scared to live in such a different environment. Also, I live in Kentucky, rural Kentucky at that.

As a trans girl, I've never been the most well received in this part of the world, which is fine, to each their own. But, I'm scared of being open about myself since the town I'm moving to, is even smaller than the one I'm in now. And the only group for people like me at the school, is full of elitist arrogant people who're just as mean and prejudiced for different reasons. I don't know what to do. Should I be active, secluded, self interested and goal orientated? College is an opportunity to remake yourself, but I don't know if I can. Should I bring my girl clothes? Should I introduce myself as my girl name? Of course I know practicing the interests of this site will me 100 percent impossible to do safely with a roommate. But It's just, I'm going to be more alone than I already am. No friends at all. 

That's really scary.

3 answers to this question

On 7/25/2019 at 11:45 AM, Krissy13 said:

Hi. So, I'm a university student, and this upcoming academic year is the first time I'll be living on campus. The idea is really, really scary. It's only an hour drive but the idea of being completely on my own is really depressing. No one I know is attending the school, and I've never even met my roommate. I've never lived anywhere but my parents house before. So of course I'm scared to live in such a different environment. Also, I live in Kentucky, rural Kentucky at that.