How Does Drinking Urine Stop Dehydration?

4 posts in this topic

Excuse me for my lack of knowledge but how does drinking stop you from dehydrating? Isn't urine the waste from other drinks, so won't your body just reject it and basically, since it's waste, just pee everything right back out since there's nothing it can take from it?

I'm not a doctor, but I'm pretty sure drinking nothing but unprocessed urine is only going to stave off dehydration for a short period without serious side effects. Urea and some other wastes found in pee might pass through the digestive tract unabsorbed, but I'm pretty sure the gut absorbs salt indiscriminately and without a means of filtering salts from the urine or eating a salt free diet, I'd think you'd eventually reach the point of having more excess salt in your system than the kidneys can remove with the available volume of water.

If you found yourself stranded or trapped without a water source, drinking pee might extend your survival by a day or two, but I don't think it would be a viable long-term solution to staying hydrated.