OmoOrg News and Updates

  • entries
    9
  • comments
    27
  • views
    5,985

Contributors to this blog

Account deactivation feature implemented

1,356 views

While we hate seeing our valued OmoOrg community members leave us, we understand that sometimes people need a break and sometimes this just isn't a community for everyone.

Up until now, if you wanted to have your account deactivated, you had to contact a staff member and manually request this, which is a tedious and time-consuming method for both parties.

With this update, we have added a fully automated system for requesting account deactivation or deletion (for Introductory and Regular Members).

When you deactivate your account through this system, your profile information will be reset and your profile will be immediately disabled. Members can no longer contact you or view any of your profile information, and you will no longer receive any site related notifications.

Should you ever wish to reactivate your account again in the future, all you will have to do is login and click the "Reactivate Account" button!

 

If you ever have any concerns about your account or something site related, we encourage you to please reach out to us first. We're happy to help! But should you ever need this feature in the future, you can find the "Deactivate My Account" link in your Account Settings page (accessed by clicking your username in the top-right).

1493876917252screensave.png



5 Comments


Recommended Comments

Great to hear!  I'm sure this will ease up your workload, too.

I have a question about this bit: your profile information will be reset.  Does that mean the stuff I've written in the profile text fields is gone forever?  Would I have to re-write it all if I re-activated my account?

Share this comment


Link to comment
On 5/4/2017 at 5:16 AM, Kei said:

Does that mean the stuff I've written in the profile text fields is gone forever?  Would I have to re-write it all if I re-activated my account?

Nope! The system should retain all your profile information off-site, so if you ever reactivate your account it (should) be restored automatically.

Avatars are an exception to this currently, you'll have to re-upload your avatar; but other profile information should be restored on reactivation.

Share this comment


Link to comment

What about the files we have submitted? I have been asking you about removing my archives for months and I never had one answer. Deactivating the account would also prevent the files form being downloaded?

Share this comment


Link to comment
On 5/5/2017 at 1:15 PM, 00000000000000 said:

What about the files we have submitted? I have been asking you about removing my archives for months and I never had one answer. Deactivating the account would also prevent the files form being downloaded?

I sent you a personal message regarding this.

Share this comment


Link to comment

i vaguely remember deleting my account 2 years ago...

oh well. nice feature!

Share this comment


Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.